top of page

January 2004 - More used parts...

1/4/2004 -

The final components off of the donor has been removed - brake calipers, steering rack, throttle cable and starter solenoid (not shown):

Upon removal of the rack, it was clear the tie rods were shot, both boots were leaking on the rack; turning the steering from the rag joint, it felt rather "rough"; not sure if that was normal or not. After the calipers were removed, I sat and stared at the LCA's and spindle. I then called the buyer of the donor if $1100 would be acceptable if I kept the LCA's, shocks, spindles and springs all intact. Not sure if he'll got that far but hoping he will.

Regardless, I'm going to buy a set of SN95 spindles and a free set of LCA's have been located. So the desire to remove all of the suspension quickly disappeared. As for these components, I feel they will have "core" value so in effect, it will cost me a few hundred dollars more to obtain refurbished master cylinder, calipers and steering rack.

A couple of days ago, I was able to sell the BBK headers. This will help in cost reductions. I "might" be able to sell a few other pieces from the engine as well - every little bit helps!

1/10/2004 -

Since I decided to not remove the LCA's and spindles, I found someone that wanted to sell a 5-lug conversion w/PBR brakes (dual piston) for $250. I felt these would be worthwhile, considering these bits normally sell around $350. These turned out to be in pretty good shape; the spindles are off a 2000 Mustang; they did lack the shields but not a show stopper. 4 mounting bolts for the calipers were included, along with a pair of Goodrich stainless steel braided lines. The PBR's were in very good condition; seals looked in great shape with just some brake dust. Here's a few shots:

With just a wire brush and some paint, these pieces should look almost brand new!

1/22/2004 - *EDITED 7/6/2006*

For those that have been reading the journal, please reference my May 2006 Journal to see what happened on my first start of the "331" stroker, which turned out to be a disaster. I am upset and embarrassed by the engine I bought , that I am simply editing and deleting all entries as I see relevant to the now parted motor. The primary issues were as follows:

  • Vibration issues led us to ultimately to conclude the engine was not neutral balanced as it was described; most likely 28oz. imbalance.

  • The bores of the motor were not 4.030 so it is a standard 5.0L block

  • The crank is a welded stroker to obtain a stroke, but the stroke itself was a non-standard stroke. Final analysis reveals the block was more of a 317CID motor instead of a 331.

  • While the crank was balanced, the heavy mallory slugs were welded in radially. Not a good method these days.

  • The Melling HV pump isn't necessary for this kind of engine (street). Oil pressure was all over the place but now sure why. The Melling was even blue printed so the problems may possibly be internal to the block(?). Just don't know what happened here.

My guess is this motor was essentially thrown together with good parts but advertised falsely. The only good thing about this experience, was a good lesson on how to build a motor correctly born out of some mistakes I made during the build and discovered some during the dismantling. I believe if a crank were purchased, this motor can be salvageable. But I will likely try to sell off what I can. I did keep the studs and girdle and used them on my new CHP 347 Stroker!

The 'blessing in disguise' is, I had a chance to have a professionally built and balanced motor and increase my displacement in the process. I also avoided some potential problems down the road with a crank that in my opinion, should never have seen the light of day; welded strokers, from what I was told, was something out of the 50's when racers wanted to stroke the motor but one-piece units were not available so they made their own. Today, there is absolutely no reason anyone needs to have a welded crank. Many cranks from Eagle, Probe, Scat and other manufacturers come in many different strokes to suite any situation, or they can custom make one to your specifications, but regardless, they can be had without sacrificing a potential problem from a "bad" weld.

Again, all pictures related to the build up of this particular motor will be deleted. Sorry, some of the build up was actually quite good; I will probably keep some pictures and posts, having to do with some measuring I did with the cam and throw it in the Engine Spec. page, but otherwise, don't go looking for the "331".


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page