top of page

March 2004 - More refurbishing...

3/1/2004 -

Today I replaced the rear IRS spindle bearings, Timken JRM4249. Napa Auto Parts had replacement bearings, BRGFW115. These were $97.40 for the pair! But since I had no idea as to the mileage of the original nor how much abuse they may of had, it was just good insurance.

The 12 ton press went right back to work and pressed in both.

What I did remember from taking out the heavy duty "C" clips a few months back, was the normal snap ring pliers are not up to the task. Even with needle nose pliers, this was not the best tool. I reasoned what I really needed.was needle nose pliers with longer handles for better leverage and Craftsmen just happened to have 11" pliers:

These things made very short work of the C-rings going back in. Wish I had bought these a few months ago! It appears at this point, everything is in place:

3/3/04 -

Per instructions by Vintage Racing, I obtained a 6" threaded bolt and nut and some washers to draw in the polyurethane bushings:

This actually completes my very first "finished" sub-assembly. I can now store these spindles and check them off as completed until the kit arrives with the IRS shafts. Here's a few pics of one of the finished spindles:

3/6/2004 -

Not much activity since the spindles, however, I did find a new-in-box, Strange Engineering 8.8" 3.55 gear set that normally sells for around $158. A private party was in need of cash and sold the gear set for $100. Very nice unit and I did count the teeth to ensure it is a 3.55 ratio ( 39 ring, 11 pinion ):

3/7/2004 -

Well, it was the first nice day in a long time. Went to a 1 year old party, washed my VW Passat, and simply enjoyed the day. Oh, by the way, I began to dismantle the T5 as it has been killing me to see just what shape the gears are in. It took approx. 30 minutes but I was taking my time and just following both the Hanlon video (Rebuilding Your T5 Manual Transmission) and the PDF file from Tremec. No surprises here:

Looking closesly at the input cluster, I rotated the shaft a few revolutions while looking at each gear for any abnormal wear or chips. The gears look absolutely great. If this is what 103,000 miles looks like, this thing should last forever. I have no clue if this tranny was ever rebuilt. Since I was not sure, I wanted to open this up just to see.

I'll post this picture on FFCobra and try to get a feel if perhaps I should just leave it alone. Personally, I don't think it needs it. The car never went "out of gear" and shifted into each gear fine before I removed it so I know it at least worked. And on the bench, it shifted smooth with the typical "notchiness"

3/27/2004 -

I had a chance to sandblast the inner CV joints of the IRS. I already painted the motor mount plates a dark Ford Blue a couple of weeks ago but didn't take a picture of them. I painted up the CV's in aluminum/silver:


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page