top of page

October 2003 - Project Snake Venom begins!

The idea of using a donor Mustang is how I thought I would approach the Factory Five Roadster build.

10/14/03:

I have all of the transfer papers taken care of for a use 1991 Ford Mustang; this transaction was not as straight-forward as I thought it would be. The owner originally bought the car from a used car lot in Gilroy, CA. Literally a day later, he had to sell it because his fiance didn't want a stick shift car. He had called the used car salesmen but like most dealers, there is no "grace period". But he had not filed the paper work yet. So I drove down to Gilroy and while he "cancelled " the paper work for the original owner, it's still counted as a transaction, thus new forms for my ownership was yet another transaction, albeit a profitless one for the dealer. I guess he was at least up front and honest about the whole thing. I know, I could of just said: "I paid him $2000" but I'm not good at lying so there.

In any event, I own the car and as they say, "I'm back in the saddle again". It's been a long 19 years since I owned a V8 and a Mustang at that. And now the fun begins. Unlike my 65', this engine is chock full of electronics and smog devices. Needless to say, this kind of thing could be intimidating if it wasn't for the fact I've kept busy on my VW and a lot of other Passats over the years. I might be shy a few tools, but otherwise, I'm ready to get this started.

The pink slip won't arrive for a number of weeks; until then, I'm just going to run the Mustang around a bit and start asking a lot of questions about the 5.0L engine. You can go to the "91' Mustang GT 5.0 Donor" page for more info.

10/27/2003:

I received the FFR Assembly Manual for the 65 Roadster MkII with their new DVD which is a revised version of their VHS tape:

Also, received the engine sling:


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page